Welcome To DMH

Get a quote today  

Class 4 MOT

The Ministry Of Transport in the UK lays down specific legal requirements for any vehicle permissible on-road. These requirements constitute the MOT Test.

The Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency or DVSA regulating the MOT test prescribes that any car older than three years must pass this annual test, failing which the vehicle owner is heavily penalised and the vehicle in question cannot run on the UK roads.

The purpose of this test is to ensure road safety for drivers, passengers and pedestrians alike while assuring that all vehicles running are environmentally safe.

MOT test Lloc for Class 4 vehicles

At DMH Tyres, we cater to vehicles falling under the Class 4 MOT, including:

  • Cars comprising light vans such as ambulances, camper vans, etc. with up to twelve passenger seats, minibuses, private hire cars and three-wheelers weighing more than 450 kg.
  • Goods vehicles weighing up to 3000 kg.
  • Motor caravans or motorhomes.
  • Dual-purpose vehicles (usually having unladen weight less than 2040 kg).

MOT must not be confused with car servicing in general. A class 4 MOT test Lloc comprises a visual inspection of the vehicle parts, including:

  • Brakes
  • Steering
  • Exhaust and emission
  • Tyres and wheels
  • Suspension
  • Battery and wiring
  • Number plate
  • Seats and seat belts
  • Lights
  • Mirrors
  • Horn
  • Fuel System
  • Bonnet catch
  • Doors
  • Body and structure

The technicians take around an hour to complete this inspection.

MOT certification

On the successful completion of the MOT test, an authorised and trusted MOT test Lloc centre like ours provides the vehicle owner with a relevant certification out of the following two:

VT20 pass- It is the MOT pass certificate. Any vehicle that passes the MOT across all parameters in one go is awarded the VT20 certificate. It can also include suggestions and is valid for one year.

VT30 notice- The notice is a written denial of VT20 as the vehicle fails the test in one more parameter. The certificate states the category of failure and can also comprise suggestions.

Classification of MOT failures

The DVSA classifies any failure in the MOT test into one of the following categories:

  • Dangerous
  • Major
  • Minor

A minor category failure will not result in complete failure. It implies that you can still drive the vehicle. However, it is advisable to get these fixed at the earliest to assure maximum on-road safety for all.

However, a vehicle with dangerous or major issues fails the MOT test. You might be able to drive a vehicle with major issues if the test centre still regards it as roadworthy. But, you can only drive a car with dangerous issues after taking an MOT retest.

Effectively end your search for ‘MOT check near me’ with our impartial MOT Testing and practical MOT repairs at DMH Tyres Lloc.

So, to book your MOT test Lloc slot, dial 01352 721163 today!